This page is optimized for a taller screen. Please rotate your device or increase the size of your browser window.

Abt Staff Recognized for Innovation, Social and Scientific Impact

Abt staff were recognized for outstanding work at the company’s 2018 Annual Meeting in Cambridge, Mass., with awards for social and scientific impact and technical innovation, among others.

“We are proud to celebrate the exceptional accomplishments of our staff, who have made major contributions to the fields in which we work and exemplify our culture of knowledge sharing,” said Abt Global President and CEO Kathleen Flanagan.

award winners
(from left to right) Jeffrey Morris, Michelle Krasnec, Ian Lipton, Matt Rissing, Abt Board member David Ellwood

Outstanding Scientific Impact Award

Heather Forth, Jamie Holmes, Russell Jones, Michelle Krasnec, Claire R. Lay, Ian Lipton, Andrew McFadden, Jeffrey Morris, Matt Rissing, Constance L. Travers

For producing substantial, original scientific knowledge on how oil affects marine life and creating the methods and data to inform the government’s multibillion dollar settlement with BP after the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

award winners
(from left to right) Abt Board member Wendell Knox, Mary Joel Holin, Alvaro Cortes, Meghan Henry

Clark Abt Prize for Outstanding Social Impact

Mary Joel Holin, Jill Khadduri, Larry Buron, Alvaro Cortes, Meghan Henry

For enhancing the quality and capacity of local homelessness programs across the U.S. through the Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR) project, which, for the first time in U.S. history, collected reliable data to estimate homelessness in the U.S.  This data has provided evidence to inform major policy initiatives, such as the emphasis on permanent supportive housing for chronically homeless people, and is enabling local homeless providers to improve program operations.  Also, at the federal level, AHAR contributed to the 47 percent decrease in homelessness among veterans from 2010 to 2016.  AHAR served as the initial vehicle for cooperation between HUD and the VA, which led to coordination of policy and resources at both the federal and local levels.

award winners
(from left to right) Santiago Enriquez, Christine Teter, Nimmi Damodaran, Benjamin Matek, Abt Board member Cinnamon Dornsife, Jon Saunders, Liz Mettetal, Joe Donahue, Michelle Graff

Technical Innovation Award

Nimmi Damodaran, Joe Donahue, Santiago Enriquez, Benjamin Matek, Michelle Graff, Liz Mettetal, Christina Waldron, Nadia Scharen-Guivel, Alexis St. Juliana, Christine Teter, Jon Saunders, Claire Zarakas

For creating a data-driven decision support package enabling planners in more than 40 cities worldwide to justify, finance and implement better solid waste programs.


Work With Us
Ready to change people's lives? We want to hear from you.
We do more than solve the challenges our clients have today. We collaborate to solve the challenges of tomorrow.